Keep It Reel Reviews

Reel People. Reel Reviews.

Batman Begins (2005) – My Attempt to Distract Myself from the Fact that I’m Not at the Midnight Premiere

Leave a comment


Rated: PG-13

2 hrs 20 mins

By: Staff Writer Nathaniel Brayton

Tonight, as everyone puts on their cowls, capes, and Batman tee-shirts, I sit here dying of anticipation. Slowly, I become more of a hipster, saying to myself , “I’m lame for not being the first one to see it”. I run over to the movie store, kicking myself in the back for not already having the first two. I tell myself that it’s because I wanted to wait for the trilogy, but the truth is that I don’t deserve to call call myself a fan of the Caped Crusader. I fumble over the DVD trying to get in into the player. Finally, some Batman to tide me over. I am immediately taking back to the day I first saw Begins. It was the start of a new chapter for me. The cartoons were great but now I have grown up. I am ready. “I am Batman”, says Christian Bales. It sends shivers down my spine.

The fact is, I am a better person because of Batman. We all are. He teaches us to stand up for what is right. He teaches us that a symbol can never be destroyed. “Wham!” “Pow!” We have come a long way. That stumble in the late 90’s was not your fault. You lived on and now a new generation is learning of the greatest superhero the world has ever seen. The movie ends. “I can’t believe I almost thought The Avengers was as good as this”. Nothing will be. I never got to say thank you, but I know I never will have to. Because you are just doing your job. Protecting the city and instilling hope. You are the Dark Knight and tonight you will Rise.

Batman Begins gets a

9.5 out of 10 from me.

“It’s not who I am underneath, but what I do that defines me.”

Leave a Reply

