Keep It Reel Reviews

Reel People. Reel Reviews.

The Dark Knight (2008) – Review

Leave a comment


Rated: PG-13

2 hrs 30 min

By: Staff Writer Nathaniel Brayton

If you read my review of Batman Begins I think you might have caught on to my bias towards Batman films. Tonight I see The Dark Knight Rises, but this afternoon I watched The Dark Knight. And what goes better with Batman, than Batman cookies my girlfriend and I made!

 

Batman is back to strike fear in the hearts of Gotham’s scum. This time, he faces a new type of enemy, who has no rules or desires, The Joker. This movie is a masterpiece from start to end. Although there are parts that may feel slow, they are necessary to make the movie work. Every little detail is meticulously planned out and executed with perfection. The art of Nolan’s Batman is that he places the audience in a world that is believable. There are places in the real world that resemble Gotham, while Nolan makes becoming a masked vigilante a real possibility.

There will never be a Joker as good as the one Heath Ledger played. In a movie filled with amazing actors, he stands out.

Overall, The Dark Knight delivers the excitement and provides a great new story arc for Bruce Wayne and Batman. I can not wait for tonight when this chapter closes.

I haven’t decided which film I enjoy better, Batman Begins or The Dark Knight but from a critical stand point, The Dark Knight gets a

 

9.5 out of 10

“What were you trying to prove? That deep down, everyone’s as ugly as you? You’re alone!”

Leave a Reply

