Keep It Reel Reviews

Reel People. Reel Reviews.

I Have Never Seen Indiana Jones – Raiders of the Lost Ark Review

Leave a comment


By: Staff Writer Nathaniel Brayton

Rated: PG

1 hr 55 min

Budget: $18 mil

Worldwide Gross: $384,140,454

And it’s not only me; another one of our staff writers here at Keep it Reel Reviews has never watched the artifact hunting archaeologist either.

After going twenty two years of hearing everyone talk about the films, I created, in my mind, my own version of the Indiana Jones series and it’s easy to say that I was so far off. To me, without ever seeing any of the films, I thought Indiana Jones was this super serious film filled with this enormous amount of drama and pressure to save the world. In reality, it’s the complete opposite; Raiders of the Lost Ark is rowdy, humorous, and a light hearted experience.

The part I like most about Raiders of the Lost Ark, as with many of these older films, is the use of practical effects. This film is over 30 years old but still looks better than some movies today. Especially with adventure films, I’d rather have more conservative yet believable effects than a large amount of fake CGI. And right from the beginning, when that iconic scene of Indy running from the boulder came on, I knew I was in for a treat.

My most recent trip to Disney World came in the form of a high school senior choir vacation. And while that wasn’t my first time to visit Disney World, it was my first time seeing the Indiana Jones show. If you haven’t had a chance to check that out, you are missing out. The show takes three iconic scenes from the movie and preforms them with live explosives and flipping stuntmen. Now, after watching the film, I’ve noticed something else missing from current movies, distinct set pieces. I’m betting that every Indiana Jones fan can break down the movie into nice neat sections. That’s what makes this movie so good; it is memorable, and not just the sets. Each and every character, even down to the monkey, played an import, unique, and pivotal role in the plot.

Another great thing about this film is its sense of humor. The characters are always cracking jokes, which does a good job to relax the audience and keeps them enjoying the ride. Raiders doesn’t seem to take itself too seriously; it has a cheekiness and charm that is unique only to great films like these.

If anything, Raiders of the Lost Ark proves that film making, at its best back in the day, was held to a higher standard than today. I am embarrassed that it took me this long to view this masterpiece and for it’s longevity I give it a

9.0out of 10

” Dr. Jones. Again we see there is nothing you can possess which I cannot take away.”

All budgets and gross amounts from boxoffficemojo.com

Leave a Reply

