Keep It Reel Reviews

Reel People. Reel Reviews.

X-Men: First Class (2011) “Archive”

Leave a comment


ORIGINALLY POSTED ON June 22, 2011

Rated: PG-13

2 hr 11 min

Budget: $160 mil

Worldwide Gross: $323,195,643


I already know what you’re going to say, but this movie is going towards the top of my overrated movies list. That’s right, I said it. 

What’s particularly amazing about this film? Nothing; yet it seems to be changing people’s lives. So, lets start with the part of the movie I feel it got right. First Class did a great job in capturing the tension and exploring the complexities of Charles and Erik’s relationship and motives. The audience has a deeper and more sympathetic view of Erik because of his history in the Holocaust. We also get to see Charles branch out and have fun as a ‘ladies man’ or ‘smooth operator’ while still embodying wiseness beyond his age and an open-minded view of society. Now, onto some weak points of the film. First, Charles and Erik’s relationship shown in the movie, to me, cannot begin to describe how much respect and history they have for each other in the future. What I mean is that besides looking deep into Erik’s mind (and I understand that’s a big deal), the audience has to infer that the bond between them in such a short period of time was intimate enough to formulate a life long respect for each other. Second, I though the actual ‘class’ of characters acting was sub-par and frankly uninteresting compared to Charles and Erik. They could have been taken out but I do realize that it’s called First Class.

Now I know Kevin Bacon’s biggest fan is Kevin Bacon but after this movie he should be his only fan. I found Kevin Bacon’s acting cheesy and over the top, even though that’s what the role called for. He wasn’t menacing or threatening. In fact, Emma Frost was more . . .chilling than KB. I think X-Men should go back to the gritty realistic style that was X-2, instead drifting towards the stylized cartoon theme.  I’d like to hear what you think the direction of the next X-Men films should head. However, overall, First Class was entertaining and provided some new and unique perspectives on some favorite characters and in my opinion beats out Last Stand and Wolverine. Still, it’s not ‘best movie of the year’ by far, as some people claim.

7.0

“You know, I believe the true focus lies somewhere between rage and serenity.”

Here’s an article that was on Yahoo! recently about the potential downfall of  superhero movies: Too Many Men in Tights? One point I want to make clear is that I’m not a super fan that reads every comic book and knows every story arc. But, if any of my readers are, I would like to hear your perspectives on this movie compared to the others.

Leave a Reply

