Keep It Reel Reviews

Reel People. Reel Reviews.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012)

5 Comments


Rated: PG-13

1 hr 43 min

Staff Writer: Nathaniel Brayton

the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-poster

I’m still waiting for the day when a movie depicts a high school experience similar to mine. The Perks of a Wildflower didn’t seem as genuine as I wanted and maybe if I could relate to the characters a little more, I would have had a better experience.

Charlie is writing letters,  presumably to the audience of the film, about his freshman year of high school. He is nervous to start school because he recently went through the traumatic death of his best friend. However, he quickly gains friends, Sam and her brother Patrick, two seniors who help him through his first year. Over time, he falls for Sam (Emma Watson), who is not without faults of her own.

There is a tone that I don’t seem to like with this film. Even though it deals with difficult social issues like, abuse and sexuality, they seem to fade away after their initial scene. I feel like the purpose or goal of the film was lost in the shuffle for me. Even at the end, the most important part, it felt like the movie glossed over the revelation just so they could get to Charlie standing up in the truck.

And I can’t write this review without saying that, as much as I am a fan of Emma Watson, her accent was so BAD. The way she delivered her dialogue was disjointed and unnatural. And even some of the phrases she used were clearly British. I felt bad when I saw her struggling in each and every scene. But, maybe now that she has this film under her belt, it will be the experience she needed.

But the movie was all that bad. All the characters had depth and the audience gets to see them grow over the course of the film, which is the most you ask for in a coming of age flick. Also, the soundtrack was great as you expect in an ‘indie’ film like this.  And I do have to give praise to Ezra Miller who stole the show, giving probably the performance of his lifetime.

The Perks of being a Wallflower just was not the right fit for me. It felt like it didn’t have an end game and I couldn’t relate to most of the characters. That being said, it did a great job of showing all of the unique and interesting personalities and their interactions with one another.

7.0

out of 10

“We accept the love we think we deserve.”

5 thoughts on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012)

  1. A movie that made me happy to be alive and proud that I actually went out to see it and felt something. Rarely ever happens to me when I watch movies like this. Good review Issy.

  2. I found this one good, just not amazing like everyone else seemed to find it

  3. Great review! You captured my exact sentiments with the overarching plot line being poorly implemented. Overall, a decent film, but not great

  4. I’m glad there are people who agree with me about this film. 🙂

Leave a Reply

